You Cannot Be Serious…

You Cannot Be Serious

You Cannot Be Serious…

…as John McEnroe used to say. Seriously though, as a manager you need to have a sense of humour. In my book, if you already possess the four C’s then you can be a good manager: Competent, Cordial, Civil and Caring. To be a really great manager you need to add a fifth element, that is, to be Cool. This is really a rather obvious and simple theory of mine yet it is effective, affective and an infectious trait. Remember, laugh and the whole world laughs with you – not at you.

If you take yourself too seriously you can be sure that few people will take you seriously. I’m not saying you need to clown around all the time as, again, co-workers won’t know when you mean business. It is a fine balancing act between knowing when to be the solemn boss and when letting the child within you emerge. A word of warning though, if you are not the jovial type then don’t force it. People will see right through your awkward and embarrassing attempt to laugh when it obviously didn’t come naturally. It’s better to admit not being amused and showing you find it difficult to joke around; people can understand that and respect you all the same. You never know, maybe one day someone will find something that will stroke your funny bone.

I don’t normally look to spiritual guidance for assistance in writing a blog but I think this is appropriate:

To Every Thing There is a Season (from Ecclesiastes 3:1-8)

…A time to weep, and a time to laugh;
a time to mourn, and a time to dance;…

Finally, the best summary to my basic theory is a document I came across many years ago. It is an admission letter to NYU University by a certain Hugh Gallagher. It’s a long and confusing read but I find it absolutely hilarious; it cracks me up every time I read it. It is a great example of not taking oneself too seriously. In fact, the question posed was silly considering it was addressed to a young person with probably few life experiences so he replied in a silly but brilliant manner. I don’t know where Mr. Gallagher is today but I’m sure he must be having a lot of fun doing whatever he’s doing…btw, the letter got him into NYU.

I cleaned up the original letter for ease of reading, grab your pdf copy here

Thanks for reading and have FUN.  ç:)

2 thoughts on “You Cannot Be Serious…

  1. you can wiki mr gallagher if you like… my curious nature for the totally useless got the better of me… my tail is still in a cast from my last adventure
    which reminds me of my husband’s pick up line (which obviously worked):
    (handing me a napkin with name and number) ” you can google me”
    still loving your blog!

    • Sorry to hear that, Carmen; get well soon. Love the napkin technique your husband used 🙂
      Still loving your comments, thanks for following.

Leave a Reply

